Tyler Fluharty Co-Writer for Bonnie Lass
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

Richv1
Jazma V.P.

Canada
6392 Posts

Posted - 12/31/2010 :  03:22:22 AM  Show Profile  Visit Richv1's Homepage  Reply with Quote Bookmark and Share

Tyler Fluharty
Co-Writer for Bonnie Lass: The Legend
Published by: Red 5 Comics
Interviewed by: Richard Vasseur/Jazma VP
Posted: 31/12/2010

Rich: How did you end up being a comic book writer?

Tyler: I graduated from SSU in 2008 and Michael and I had been talking about writing a story together for a little while. The time just seemed right since we both had a bit more free time. Initially I did all the background art along with writing the story with Michael. However, I got very busy with some other work and had to leave all the artwork to him. Which turned out fantastic because Michael is a great artist.

Rich: How would you describe Bonnie Lass's personality?

Tyler: Very much a fiery red-head. She doesn't put up with any sort of crap and she's always right (according to her). She's got a past to go with it though, so there is a reason for the kind of person she is. She cares deeply for her crew despite how she seems to treat them, and enjoys her beer and whiskey as often as possible.

Rich: Why did you and Michael Mayne decide on a pirate setting but with technology?

Tyler: Michael and I were lucky enough to have dad's that loved westerns. So we both grew up watching Cowboys all the time, and now we both love a good western. Disney gets most of the credit in my book for bringing Pirates back into the picture. I enjoyed them when I was younger, but I always pictured them as the Bad Guys while Cowboys stood for something positive. We wanted to do a western themed story, but didn't want to be stranded in a desert environment most of the story so we threw in the Pirate aspect and now we have a huge world to explore (and pirate).