Raphael Moran Writer for Dream Reavers
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

Richv1
Jazma V.P.

Canada
6470 Posts

Posted - 06/09/2011 :  07:15:52 AM  Show Profile  Visit Richv1's Homepage  Reply with Quote Bookmark and Share

Raphael Moran
Writer for Dream Reavers
Published by: Ape Entertainment
Interviewed by: Richard Vasseur/Jazma VP
Posted: 09/06/2011

Rich: How did you first get into writing comics?

Raphael: To tell you the truth, it was by necessity. I never wanted to be a writer growing up. When kids went outside to play sports I was inside drawing and reading comic books. I went to college and graduated as a cartooning major. Most of my early years I worked as an artist, from doing graphic design, story boarding and illustrating comics.

Drawing comics is pretty time consuming and unless you have superstar talent youíre not gonna get hired by Marvel or DC. Itís hard to break into the big leagues as an artist and doing all the commercial art and story boards werenít satisfying anymore to me. The only reason I even started to write was to have a second option to get into the business. I wrote my first novel at the age of 18 and wrote and illustrated my first comic story in college. The later of which became the basis of my web-comic story Angst. http://apecmx.com/ufo/?p=114

When I was a little kid Iíd draw all these characters in my sketch books and created all these detailed worlds and story lines behind them. One day I went through a bunch of these old sketch books and decided to base a couple of these drawings on a new comic pitch. After going through a couple of different artists I found a person that I thought would be a great compliment to my story in Marc Borstel. I pitched the series to Ape Entertainment and before I knew it, Iím suddenly a comic writer of a epic 4 part mini-series.

Rich:Where did the idea for "Dream Reavers" come from?