Mark Lone, "Cr." Rise of the Mutant. Underground
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

Allen
Jazma Member

USA
310 Posts

Posted - 08/15/2011 :  11:08:49 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote Bookmark and Share
Interview with: Mark Lone
Comic book: Rise of the Mutant Underground
Job on story: Creator = "Cr" in Heading Title
self published
http://marklone.blogspot.com
Interviewed by: Allen Klingelhoets
www.jazmaonline.com

Allen: I read about you Mark Lone in local Eau Claire, Wisconsin Leader - Telegram newspaper. Tell me a little bit about yourself.

Mark Lone: Well, I guess you could say I am a self trained freelance artist. I live in a small town in the northwoods of Wisconsin. My studio is cluttered with many vintage Star Wars spaceships and figures.

Allen: What kinds of comicbooks did you read in your youth?

Mark Lone:I was a HUGE fan of the early TMNT books, y'know - the original turtles when they were in black and white and on the covers they all had red bandanas. Eastman and Laird are a giant inspiration to me, and always have been. Other than that, I would say the standard 90's comics, the ones people complain about now but couldnt get enough of at the time. X-Men, X-Force, Spiderman. the list goes on... anything by Art Adams or Jim Lee.

Mark's version of Raph.

Allen: You mentioned Art Adams and Jim Lee. Are there other comic book creative people that inspired you?

Mark Lone: When I was younger and in high school, I thought Todd Mcfarlane's art was the bomb, as well as mentioned Jim Lee, also Erik Larsen. Now days I really get into this graphic storytelling type stuff, like the Goon, really love that book! Eric Powell blows my mind. Nate Simpson's book "nonplayer" is amazing. Jessic Abel's instructional book "how to draw words and write pictures" is always inspiring to me. When ever I get into a slump I jump back will do a review of that book. Very inspiring and instructional.