DIRECTORY
HOME
FORUM
MAIL
SHOP
NEW! HPI Chronicles Vol. 4
by Paul Dale Roberts



Star Verse Store!
Bruce Studios 68
MEMBERS LINKS
Star Verse Comics
ScriptGraphics
NETWORKING
Bruce's MySpace
Bruce's Facebook
Paul's Facebook
Richard's Facebook
Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Members | Search | FAQ
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

 All Forums
 Jazma
 Jazma Interviews
 Matt Miner Writer This Nightmare Kills Fascists
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

Richv1
Jazma V.P.

Canada
6700 Posts

Posted - 07/07/2017 :  1:28:42 PM  Show Profile  Visit Richv1's Homepage  Reply with Quote Bookmark and Share


Matt Miner
Editor/Writer for This Nightmare Kills Fascists
Interviewed by: Richard Vasseur/Jazma VP
Posted: 07/07/2017
Kickstarter link: https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/epalicki/this-nightmare-kills-fascists-a-comics-anthology

Rich: How did you and Eric Palicki get together to create "This Nightmare Kills Fascists"?

Matt: This was a project born of a Twitter conversation and a feeling of wanting to use comics to say something about the feeling of dread and anxiety that permeates us in this political climate. Eric and I have been friends for years, but this is the first time we're working together – it's been a lot of fun so far and it's great to be able to tap so many of our uber-talented friends to work on the book and submit their own slices of horror.



Rich: Where did the title "This Nightmare Kills Fascists" come from?

Matt: It's a direct nod to Woody Guthrie's “This Machine Kills Fascists” sticker on his guitar, which speaks to using art as a political message for good.

Rich: Who are some of the talented people working on "This Nightmare Kills Fascists"?

Matt: The book has all kinds of super talented people like Ryan Ferrier, Vita Ayala, Katy Rex, Ariela Kristantina, Chris Sebela, Ryan K Lindsay, and many, many more. Seriously, check out nightmarekickstarter.com, because it's a who's-who of massively great writers and artists.

Rich: What does an editor do on a comic book?

Matt: We recruit the talent, help with refining pitches and scripts, review and help direct art if needed, run the Kickstarter and direct promotion, set the deadlines, and will, ultimately, get the book to print and do Kickstarter fulfillment.

Rich: What is your story about in "This Nightmare Kills Fascists"?

Matt: My story is with an up and coming bananas-great artist names Creees, and is about a tree-sitter forest protector who ends up guarding a haunted forest from logging.

Rich: Why use Kickstarter and if funded when can we expect to hold a copy of "This Nightmare Kills Fascists"?

Matt: We're going to Kickstarter because, simply, we don't have the money to fund production of the book just laying around or in our couch cushions. Making comics is expensive, and we didn't want to have to pitch the book to a publisher and get permission to make these comics – we just wanted to make them ourselves and do it our way. We expect to be sending books out to backers in the beginning of 2018.



Rich: What is "GWAR: Orgasmaggedon" about and who is GWAR?

Matt: GWAR is a legendary heavy-metal shock-rock band of alien monsters who are one part hard-hitting punk/metal, one part theatrics and outlandish costumes, and 3 parts blood spray. They're one of my favorite bands of all-time, they remind me not to take life quite so seriously, and GWAR: Orgasmageddon is the new comic series from Dynamite Comics that explores what happens when GWAR is sent careening through time like a deranged Bill & Ted on bath salts.

It's a lot of fun and you should check it out. Issues 1 and 2 are in stores now.

Rich: Have you ever seen GWAR perform live or would you like to?

Matt: I've seen GWAR live many times since I got into them back in the 1990s, and I plan on seeing them a couple more times this year alone. Their shows are fun, and messy, and outrageous, and full of humor and theatrics and spew. Put your phone in a ziplock bag and get in the pit!



Rich: How do you feel about attending comic cons?

Matt: I mean, they're a great place for connecting with readers and colleagues, but they're bad if you have anxiety issues or ADD, which is me. So, it's a mixed bag. I love it, but they stress me out.

Rich: In "Toe Tag Riot" are the zombies actually the good guys?

Matt: Well, they're a punk rock band who's cursed to become zombies whenever they play their music, so they use their “zombie superpowers” to kill and eat racists and homophobes. Westboro Baptist Church said the book would “Split Hell wide open” so, yeah, I consider the zombies in the book the good guys, without a doubt.

Rich: Why should someone pick up "Critical Hit"?

Matt: Critical Hit is the continuation of the Liberator story, which is about young vigilantes who, instead of fighting guys in capes and tights, take on animal abusers and dog fighters. It's a story close to my heart, and the profits from that series help go to dog rescue work.

Rich: Why is seeing "This Nightmare Kills Fascists" in print important to you?

Matt: I strongly feel right now we're at a time of crisis in this country. There doesn't seem to be a lot we can do right now to fix the hurt and anxiety so many of us are feeling, so we're using our art and writing to give voice to those fears as a form of catharsis. The stories are dark and scary in the vein of Creepy or Eerie and I think people are really going to enjoy the book.

Rich: How do you spend your non comic book time?

Matt: I'm a dog rescuer, and spend a lot of time doing rescue-related work. Since I work from home, I'm able to foster and take care of dogs while they're waiting for their forever homes. Work for animals is very important to me. You can check out our organization at www.redemptionrescues.org

Rich: What would you like to say to those who support "This Nightmare Kills Fascists"?

Matt: I'd say “thank you!” and I'd ask that they share the www.nightmarekickstarter.com link with their friends and ask them to back the project, too! There's not a lot of time left to make this book a reality!


Richard Vasseur
  Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Jump To:
Jazma Online Forum © 2000-2009 Jazma Online Go To Top Of Page
Snitz Forums 2000